Rotarian of the Year

Each year, individual Rotary Clubs present their awards for Rotarian of the Year. These are extraordinary individuals that give of themselves, while exhibiting an unwavering commitment to Rotary's Four-Way Test. A nominee should be an outstanding club member who has made significant contributions to the mission and operation of your club, and to one or more avenues of Community or International Service.

Similarly, Rotary International District 5340 selects outstanding Rotary members that have answered the call, going above and beyond in support of goals, projects, and events. Below is a list of previous Rotarian of the Year award winners for Rotary District 5340.

Rotarians of the Year (Chronological Order)
Year Rotary Member Rotary Club
2021-2022 Fernanda Torres San Diego Coastal
2020-21 Amelie Catheline Solana Beach Eco Club
2019-20 David Oates San Diego
2018-19 Brett Morey La Jolla Golden Triangle
  Trudy Armstrong Rancho Bernardo Sunrise
2017-18 Larry Potter San Diego Downtown
2016-17 Christine Sommer Valley Center
2015-16 Kevin Cahill Del Mar-Solana Beach
2014-15 John Harmata Vista Hi-Noon
2013-14 Michael Bardin La Jolla Golden Triangle
2012-13 Marilyn Sanderson La Mesa Sunrise
2011-12 Michael Whitehurst San Diego Downtown
2010-11 Dianne Crawford Southeast San Diego
Robert E. James, Jr. La Jolla New Generations
2009-10 Paul Pierce Encinitas
2008-09 Louise Andres La Jolla Golden Triangle
Maureen Eberle San Diego Downtown
2007-08 Bill Stumbaugh Santee-Lakeside
2006-07 Dale Bailey La Mesa
2005-06 Judy "Hey Jude" Gallegos Poway
Mel Gallegos San Diego Downtown
Jim Roth Rancho Bernardo Sunrise
2004-05 Marge Cole Mission Valley
2003-04 Russ Hanthorn Carlsbad
2002-03 Fary Moini La Jolla Golden Triangle
2001-02 Philippe Lamoise Torrey Pines (La Jolla)
James O'Meara Carlsbad
2000-01 Joan Boughton San Marcos
Wayne Cusick Blythe
Jim Hughes San Diego
Robert E. James, Sr. La Mesa Sunrise
Larry Scott La Mesa
1999-2000 Peter Griffith La Jolla Golden Triangle
1998-99 Robert E. James, Sr. La Mesa Sunrise
1997-98 Keith Dindinger La Mesa
1996-97 Stephen Brown La Jolla Golden Triangle
1995-96 Richard Thorn Point Loma
1994-95 Allen "Al" Dixon National City
1993-94 Stephen Brown La Jolla Golden Triangle
1992-93 Marshall Saunders Coronado
1991-92 Bob Crowe National City
1990-91 Terry Tanaka Chula Vista
1988-89 Harold Nelson Kearny Mesa